The following are individuals or organizations willing to provide free information to writers. While every attempt is made to ensure that FYI listings are purely informational and accurate, the WGAW does not endorse any of the following listings or the information they provide.

If you would like to list your services or update your contact information, or if you find a listing that is out-of-date, please email the Web Editor.

Government Agencies
Crime and Law
Inclusion and Community Engagement
Medicine
Religion
Psychology
More Experts

GOVERNMENT AGENCIES

Agency/Department Contact
U.S. Air Force (310) 235-7511
Air Force Entertainment Liaison Office
airforcehollywood.af.mil  
Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms & Explosives Ginger Colbrun
(818) 265-2500
atf.gov
U.S. Coast Guard (310) 235-7817
uscg.mil
U.S. Customs and Border Protection Anne Sittmann
CBP Public Affairs
(202) 325-24905
Anne.m.sittmann@cbp.dhs.gov
Main: (619) 216-4182
cbp.gov
Diplomatic Security Service Angela French
Television, Motion Picture and Book Liaison
DSS Headquarters, U.S. Department of State
Office of Public Affairs
Frenchaj1@state.gov
(571) 242-3526
Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) SSA Ray Hall
FBI Office of Public Affairs
(410) 507-8109
public.affairs@fbi.gov
fbi.gov/portrayals
Department of Homeland Security
ICE/Homeland Security Investigations (HSI)
Customs and Border Protection (CBP)
Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)
Secret Service
Transportation Security Administration (TSA)
U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS)
Office of Multimedia, Motion Pictures and Television
multimedia@dhs.gov
dhs.gov/entertainment-industry-contacts
L.A. County Office of Education Paula Bridges
Public Information Officer
Public Affairs & Communications
(562) 922-6725
bridges_paula@lacoe.edu
U.S. Navy Public Affairs
(310) 235-7481
navyinfowest@gmail.com
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (310) 268-3340
va.gov
U.S. Department of State
U.S. Foreign Policy and Counter Terrorism Global Outreach
Rainy Young
Director of the Office of Public Affairs
YoungRM@state.gov

Back to top 

CRIME AND LAW

Expertise Contact
Criminal Defense James Blatt
(310) 385-8066
j.blatt@jamesblatt.com
jamesblatt.com
Criminal Defense – Federal Robert M. Helfend
(310) 456-3317
info@robertmhelfend.com
robertmhelfend.com
Criminal Investigation & Police Procedure Detective Adam Richardson
adam@writersdetective.com
Cyber Crime & Terrorism Nicholas Wooldridge, Esq.
LV Criminal Defense
(702) 623-6362
info@lvcriminaldefense.com
lvcriminaldefense.com
FBI Investigations
Homicide Cases
Financial Crimes
Illegal Gambling Rings
Ryan Blanch
(212) 736-3900
TheBlanchLawFirm.com
Insurance Fraud/White Collar Crime Aaron Spolin
Spolin Law Firm
(310) 424-5816
spolin@spolinlaw.com
spolinlaw.com
Medical Law Melissa Neiman, M.D., J.D. Board Certified Neurosurgeon
(832) 289-9610
law@mneiman.com
mneiman.com
Personal Injury Inna Demin
(310)734-7974
injuryjusticeattorney.com
Personal Injury/Elder Law Jason Neufeld
(800) 379-8326
jneufeld@nkplaw.com
elderneedslaw.com
neufeldlawfirm.com
State Law Enforcement
(Fraud Schemes, Fraud Investigations, Undercover Investigations and Private Civil Investigations.)
John Auvinen Consulting & Investigations
(707) 453-0178
johnauvinen@comcast.net

Back to top

INCLUSION AND COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT

Expertise Contact
African American & Black Issues, Criminal Justice Kristen Marston
Color of Change Hollywood
Culture & Entertainment Advocacy Director
kristen.marston@colorofchange.org
Hollywood.colorofchange.org
Chinese Culture Samuel Chong
(626) 487-8909
chineselanguagetutor@yahoo.com
certifiedchinesetranslation.com
Deaf/Hard of Hearing Maria Monte de Rey
California Association of the Deaf (CAD) LA
(818) 356-8215
cadmediachair@gmail.com
bluebeach3@gmail.com  
Disabilities (Disabled Writers) David Radcliff
Chair, WGAW Disabled Writers Committee
radcliff.david@gmail.com
LGBTQ+ Issues GLAAD/LA
Communications Department
(323) 933-2240
press@glaad.org
glaad.org
Parents, Families and Friends
of Lesbians and Gays
(202) 467-8180
fax: (202) 467-8194
info@pflag.org
Social Justice Storyline Partners
Sanaz Alesafar
Program Director
sanaz@storylinepartners.com
storylinepartners.com

Back to top 

MEDICINE

Expertise Contact
Alzheimer's Disease Alzheimer's Association
(312) 335-4078
media@alz.org
Anesthesiologist (Surgical Services, Operating Room Management, and Perioperative Care) Irving Ye
(205) 370-8985
Cancer National Cancer Institute (NCI)
(240) 760-6600
robertson8019@gmail.com
DNA and Genetics Debra Robertson, Ph.D.
(858) 792-8019
ncipressofficers@mail.nih.gov
cancer.gov
Emergency Medicine, Pediatrics, and General Medical/Health Care Topics Michelle Shuffett, MD
(310) 995-6075
mshuffett@me.com
Homebirth Laura Shanley
(303) 521-5848
laurashanley@comcast.net
unassistedchildbirth.com
Lymphoma Nichole Musumeci
Lymphoma Research Foundation
Director of Communications/Public Relations
(212) 349-2910
ptorney@lymphoma.org
(310) 204-7040
lrf@lymphoma.org
Medical Experts, Malpractice, Criminal and Civil Cases Jane R. Leavy
(954) 346-6591
mymedexpert@aol.com
medexpertwitness.com
Neuroscience Patrick Chen, Ph.D
(949) 233-8691
pbc9@ucla.edu
Neurosurgery Melissa Neiman, M.D., J.D. Board Certified Neurosurgeon
(832) 289-9610
law@mneiman.com
mneiman.com
Organ Donation and Transplantation Tenaya Wallace
Donate Life Hollywood (DLH)
(310) 359-3631
tenaya@crowdadvocacy.net
AccessDLH.org
Organ Tissue Donation and Transplantation Elizabeth Flynn
(310) 770-3842
flynnadv@att.net
Pediatrics, Primary Care and Minority Populations Health April Khadijah Inniss, MD, MSc
(857) 971-0915
aprilinniss@gmail.com
Public Health
(Infectious Disease, Climate Change, Gun Violence, Homelessness)
Carla Denly, Associate Dean for Marketing and Communications
UCLA Fielding School of Public Health
(310) 941-2879
cdenly@support.ucla.edu
ph.ucla.edu
Public Health Topics Hollywood, Health & Society at the USC Annenberg Norman Lear Center
(323) 782-3311
usc.edu/hhs

Back to top 

PSYCHOLOGY

Expertise Contact
Addiction and Recovery SMART Recovery
Tom Horvath, Ph.D.
(858) 546-1100 x222
tom.horvath@practicalrecovery.com
smartrecovery.org
Bipolar Disorder (415) 281-3100
healthline.com
Mental Health, Media Education, Parenting Common Sense Media
(310) 689-7535
Email
commonsensemedia.org
Mental Health, Media Education Mental Health Media Guide
Katherine Pieper
(213) 740-7213
aii@usc.edu
mentalhealthmediaguide.com
Psychology (Mental Health Disorders, Personality, and Psychologists/Therapists) Allison Otto, PsyD
The Media Watch Committee
Society for Media Psychology and Technology
American Psychological Association
(610) 513-2118
Allisonpsych@gmail.com

Back to top 

RELIGION

Expertise Contact
Catholicism Paulist Productions
(310) 454-0688
assistant@paulistproductions.org
paulistproductions.org
Judaism (Orthodox Judaism, Hasidic Judaism, Jewish culture or ritual) Allison Josephs
JITC Hollywood Bureau
(201) 613-2070
Info@jewinthecity.com
JewintheCity.com
Mormonism Matt Ball
LDS Church Public Affairs, West Coast
(310) 475-7018
(800) 533-2444
(818) 388-9273
mball@lds.org
publicaffairsla@aol.com
Muslims and Islam Sue Obeidi
Muslim Public Affairs Council's Hollywood Bureau
Sue@mpac.org
(323) 258-6722
mpac.org
Muslims and Islam Imran Anwar
imran@imran.com
(646) 50-IMRAN or (646) 504-6726
http://imran.tv
Theological Accuracy Paul Viggiano
pastorpaul@branchofhope.org

Back to top 

MORE EXPERTS

Expertise Contact
Animals & Production Amer. Humane Assoc. Film & TV Unit
“No Animals Were Harmed”
(818) 501-0123
filmunit@americanhumane.org
www.humanehollywood.org
Archaeology (310) 206-8934
Civic Leadership The Civic Leadership Storylines Project
civicleadershipstories.com
Climate Storytelling & Resources/Sustainable Film & TV Production Green Production Guide
greenproductionguide.com
Computers (505) 913-9050
ssalemi@earthlink.net
Corporate Finance (Finance, Securities, Hedge Funds, Mergers & Acquisitions, Investment Banking, Private Equity, Venture Capital) Frank Hajdu
(917) 287-9035
frank.h.hajdu@gmail.com
Croquet (503) 838-5697
eliassen@open.org
Gun Safety/Accurate Portrayals of Gun Violence Noelle Howey
Director Of Cultural Engagement, Everytown.org
nhowey@everytown.org
Everytown.org
Literacy (916) 324-7358
Science and Technology The Science & Entertainment Exchange, a program of the National Academy of Sciences
(844) NEED-SCI
AEBrown@nas.edu
scienceandentertainmentexchange.org
Search & Rescue Alice Stanley
(540) 582-5708
storyspinr@aol.com
U.S. Navy & State Department Leonard Hennessy
(360) 840-8021
hennessylw@gmail.com
World War I (U.S.) Dan Dayton
U.S. World War I Centennial Commission
daniel.dayton@worldwar1centennial.org
ww1cc.org
(202) 380-0725

Back to top