David W. Rintels has written many highly acclaimed television miniseries and movies of the week, including Nuremberg (2000), The Member of the Wedding (1997), Andersonville (1996), World War II: When Lions Roared (1994), The Last Best Year (1990), Day One (1988), Sakharov (1984), Gideon’s Trumpet (1980), Fear on Trial (1975), and Clarence Darrow (1974), which he adapted from his successful Broadway play. As an episode writer, he worked on The Defenders and Slattery’s People, and was head writer for The Invaders. His movies include Scorpio (1972), which starred Burt Lancaster and Paul Scofield.

Rintels has won three Emmys and three Writers Guild Awards as well as other top honors such as the WGA Paddy Chayefsky Laurel Award for Television in 1997, the WGAw Valentine Davies Award in 1980, and the Morgan Cox Award in 2003. In 1994, Rintels received the Producer of the Year Award from the Producers Guild of America for his work on World War II: When Lions Roared. In addition, he received the Bill of Rights Award from the American Civil Liberties Union in 1980.
His distinguished service to the WGAw and its members has included several terms on the Board of Directors, and he has served on more than 25 Guild committees, chairing many, including national affairs, freedom of expression, cultural exchange, and censorship.