101 Best Written TV Series

Aired: ABC, NBC, 1978-1983

Post-Mary Tyler Moore Show, James L. Brooks, Stan Daniels, Ed. Weinberger and David Davis left MTM, formed their own company, and sold Taxi to Paramount (according to TV.com, Brooks and Davis bought back the option to a New York magazine article about night-shift cab drivers from MTM's Grant Tinker). The show won the Emmy as outstanding comedy series three years running, from 1979-1981, when M*A*S*H and All in the Family were in their sunset seasons. Future Cheers creators Glen and Les Charles were part of the Taxi staff, as was director James Burrows. ABC canceled the show after four seasons, at which point it was picked up for one more season by NBC under Tinker, the former MTM chief who had let Taxi go as a concept.

Credited Writers

Al Aidekman
Pat Allee
Larry Scott Anderson
Ruth Bennett
James L. Brooks
Glenn Gordon Caron
Glen Charles
Les Charles
Dari Daniels
Stan Daniels
Dennis Danzinger
David Davis
Barton Dean
Barbara Duncan
Ken Estin
Howard Gewirtz
Katherine Green
Holly Holmberg-Brooks
Mark A. Jacobson
Danny Kallis
Barry Kemp
Michael Leeson
Susan Jane Lindmer
David Lloyd
John Markus
Earl Pomertantz
Ian Praiser
Sy Rosen
Barry Rubinowitz
Ellen Sandler
Sam Simon
Michael Tolkin
Ed Weinberger