101 Best Written TV Series

Aired: COMEDY CENTRAL, 1999-Present

It began as The Daily Show (hosted by Craig Kilborn) in 1996, became The Daily Show (hosted by Jon Stewart) in 1999, and is now just as often referred to as Jon Stewart as its official title, The Daily Show with Jon Stewart. Though creator Lizz Winstead remained through the transition from Kilborn to Stewart, the show became a home for former writers from the satirical newspaper The Onion. It is hard to believe, but when The Daily Show first aired, there was no Fox News or MSNBC. Steadily, The Daily Show's faux journalism focused less on lampooning small-town provincialism and newsmagazine histrionics and more on the sweet spot of cable news' embrace of partisanship and fevered punditry. Perhaps because of this, the show was won nine straight Emmys for as the best written comedy/variety series.

Behind the scenes with the writers of The Daily Show with Jon Stewart 

Credited Writers

Rory Albanese
Rachel Axler
Kevin Bleyer
Richard Blomquist
Steve Bodow
Tim Carvell
Wyatt J.F. Cenac
James M. Earl
David Feldman
Hallie Haglund
JR Havlan
Scott Jacobson
Ray James
David A. Javerbaum
Tom Johnson
Kent Jones
Elliott Kalan
Rob Kutner
Josh Lieb
Samuel Means
Paul Mercurio
Jo Miller
Guy Niccolucci
John W. Oliver
Daniel L. Radosh
Jason Reich
Steven H. Rosenfield
Jason Ross
Jon Stewart
Lizz Winstead